A few words from our Guests

"A B&B which exudes taste and warmth" (I Singh, India)

We spent 2 nights at Kilkenny on the last leg of our Irish sojourn. Mairead and Jimmy were charming hosts and had cake and tea waiting for us which was refreshing. Our room was very spacious and comfortable [we were 2 adults and 2 kids] and the ensuite bathroom was large, well lit and ventilated. The home exuded taste and warmth. Breakfast entailed a delicious variety of options served tastefully and with a lot of attention to detail. We came back to our room each evening with chocolates and water thoughtfully laid out - little touches which made the stay special. Kilkenny is also a charming town which has a lot to offer in terms of craft and some of the nicest bars and restaurants. All this coupled with the warmth and hospitality of our hosts made our visit memorable. Would love to visit again and would without doubt stay at Newlands. We would wholeheartedly recommend Newlands Lodge to anyone planning a trip to Kilkenny.
 

Inakshisobti Mumbai (Bombay), India (via Tripadvisor)


Better than Home!

We spent 2 nights in Kilkenny at Newlands Lodge 2 weeks ago with my 2 adult children. It was everyone's favorite B&B of our trip! The rooms were big and comfortable, the food excellent and the family gathering area so inviting. Mairead and Jimmy made us feel instantly welcome and helped with our planning. Kilkenny was a lovely town and we enjoyed a bike sightseeing tour of the town very much.
 

Linda U Reigate, United Kingdom (via Tripadvisor)


A home away from home!!!!

Out of all the B&B's that we stayed during our trip to Ireland (3 in total) , I can say this was the best of all. The house was clean and cozy. I wish we could have stayed there longer. Mairead and Jimmy were great with providing information regarding the town and were also very hospitable. The breakfast was incredible with homemade bread and scones. The surrounding area of the house is very serene and peaceful with beautiful views. The House is right outside of the town but the short drive is well worth it. The drive is about 5-10 minutes. I would definitely recommend this place and if I ever were to go back I will not look elsewhere... the experience was lovely and a memorable one!!!!

savg1978 bronxville, ny (via Tripadvisor)


"Beautiful B&B with excellent service"

We stayed at Newlands Lodge for one night of our trip. Now I wish we had stayed more! Mairead and Jimmy are the owners and they were some of the nicest and most helpful people we met on our trip. We were offered homemade bread and tea immediately after our arrival and enjoyed relaxing in the sitting room while we looked through the information Mairead provided on local restaurants and attractions. Her recommendation for a restaurant in Kilkenny was perfect. Our room was a triple and it was so beautiful and clean- we even had little chocolates and bottles of water by our bed. The ensuite bathroom was also very clean and larger than most we saw at other places. We had my 8 year old daughter with us and she loved it too. The location was great because it was close to town, but secluded so there was no traffic and noise at night. The breakfast had good variety and tasted delicious. We used this as our gold standard for B&B's for the remainder of our trip and would definitely love to go back someday!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family

AKAGwen Ithaca, New York (via Tripadvisor)


Welcoming Home

Absolutely loved this house of Jimmy and Mairead. Special attention to our needs like having bottled water available in our room every day to take with us on our journeys and chocolate too! as well as robes and an iron and ironing board. This B&B was on a nice quiet road and our room looked out over the garden which was beautiful to wake up to every morning. It always smelled of home baking. Mairead and Jim were great hosts - always nice to chat with and they had loads of information for us regarding local spots to check out. Thank you so much for having us as guests in your home - I hope one day to return.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple

Dorothy31359 Wells River, Vermont (via Tripadvisor)


Perfect 5 star b and b

Mairead runs a 5 star B and B outside Kilkenny and I would highly recommend it. The room was fantastic, clean and very spacious. The breakfast was better than a 5 star hotel with homemade produce and personal service.

Tortoisefriend (via Tripadvisor)


“For value to price, an amazing choice and delightful hosts to boot"

It's very satisfying to join in the legions of accolades for Mairaid and Jimmy's wonderful facility. I suspect for them it's a labor of love, especially in the case of our hostess who had previously enjoyed a highly professional career helping people toward their primary goals and found herself in the position of being unable to maintain that satisfaction with the terrible turn in recent worldwide economics. I suspect that not only did it remove her from any potential to become a bearer of bad news, but allowed her to further intensify the joy she receives in bring pleasure and especially memorable experience to others.

Her husband Jimmy, when not off playing tennis in the rain with friends, gets his exercise by helping others in unanticipated little ways. I won't repeat any particular kindness here , as it would possibly be disappointing if that did not occur for another. Suffice it to say that for anyone who stays here, (and the clientele is worldwide in origin), there are so many different reasons to be happy with oneself for making the choice. The rooms are near suite in quality, bordering on exquisite with delightful appointments everywhere, the sitting and dining room, the peaceful bucolic setting, the plantings, lovely animals, the quality and attention to breakfast.

These delightful very worldly but equally warm folks from the smiling gentle Jim to his incredibly positive and energetic Maraid are not fooling around, and truly it has to be a given that it's not all about the money for them, as they give so much more than the norm for such a gentle tariff.

What a pleasure to make contact with them and Newlands Lodge! We experienced but one other facility in Ireland (myself over five trips) that equaled so sophisticated a standard relative to so simple an investment.

Room Tip: If what we received is typical, there can be no poor choice.

preglad New York City, New York (via Tripadvisor)


"Absolutely Brilliant"

A B&B of the highest quality. Mairead was such a friendly and helpful host. Accommodation was magnificent in incredibly spacious room. Such wonderful attention to detail!!! Breakfast was DELICIOUS!!!!!! With our own car, being out of town a little way was no problem at all. The countryside was very picturesque. We took a taxi into town for dinner and a few drinks one night. As there were 4 of us the cost was fine. Would most definitely recommend to others and stay again ourselves.

Yogi13_11 Lismore, Australia (via Tripadvisor)


"Best welcome to Ireland possible!"

My husband and I spent only one night in this lovely home and none could compare afterwards. The food was of 5 star quality. The hostess was friendly, informative, kind, and so warm. The house itself is gorgeous, clean, and comfortable. We used our GPS to find it without any trouble. We liked being outside of the town, yet only 10 minutes away. It was so quiet and calming. We would go back in a heart beat and cannot recommend it enough!

KennetteJB San Diego, California (via Tripadvisor)


"A Fabulous Place to Stay"

Reviewed 28 October 2013

I wish we had been able to spend more than one night at this guesthouse near Kilkenny -- the loveliest of the eight b&bs we stayed at during an 18-day trip to Ireland. It was so peaceful being in the country. The house is gorgeous, and the hosts Mairead and Jimmy were engaging and helpful. Breakfast was fabulous, too, with the best homemade scones we had on our trip.

Our room was huge and beautifully furnished. The putting green out front was a nice touch. We enjoyed seeing Kells Priory -- a 12th century monastery down the road we would have missed if Mairead hadn't suggested it. What an amazing site, and it was just us and some sheep there.

I definitely recommend this guesthouse if you are visiting Kilkenny and its amazing castle. This is a great place to stop for the night if you are driving from Dingle to Dublin as we were.

LovetoTravel2828 Norfolk, Virginia (via Tripadvisor)


"Best by far"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 October 2013

Stayed for two nights at Newlands lodge and was by far the best of all the places we stayed on our three week trip around Ireland and Northern Ireland. Mairead and Jimmy are such wonderful hosts, letting us feel so welcome when we arrived and always ready to assist, giving us advice on what to see and do around Kilkenny. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the breakfast menu is something to die for. Newlands lodge was definately one of the highlights of our trip. Will stay at no other place should we ever visit this part of the world again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple

Hans V Johannesburg, South Africa (via Tripadvisor)


"Best...no doubt"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I just returned from a round the Ireland trip of 12 days. Had stayed in eight B & B during the trip, this is the best...no doubt. At first I thought the location is remote, I found it was not that far from the city centre, the benefit is it is surrounded by beautiful garden and endless bush and green lawn. The house itself is beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Mairead and Jimmy have put a great great effort into it and they are so helpful. We had no regret following Mairead's advice for which restaurant to go for dinner...Cafe Sol. The breakfast was the best for the trip and the freshly baked scone was unforgettable. Wish I could stay there one more day. I would stay there again if I travel Ireland again.
 

Norman C Sydney, Australia (via Tripadvisor)


"Nice Stay In The Country"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a spacious 3rd floor room that had a large bathroom with a power shower. There was also a good view of their side yard, the old cottage and the surrounding farmland. Our innkeepers were friendly and Jim carried ours suitcases upstairs. The guesthouse is located about seven kilometers from town, but it is an easy drive and away from the city centre noise. Breakfast was nice with an ample buffet. Mairead also suggested that we visit Kells Priory, which was just down the road and well worth the time. I would definitely recommend Newlands Lodge.
 

Frank F Oakbrook Terrace, Illinois (via Tripadvisor)


"Wonderful guesthouse"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were so happy to have found this lovely Bed and Breakfast just a short drive outside Kilkenny in the beautiful and peaceful countryside. Mareid and Jimmy were amazing hosts who warmly welcomed us into their lovely home. We felt we were treated more like friends than guests. Mareid and Jimmy's breakfasts were the best that we had on our eight week journey through Scotland, Ireland and England. The freshly made baked goods each morning as well as the delicious smoked salmon are memorable! Our bedroom was huge and so tastefully decorated with beautiful views from the windows of the surrounding countryside. Mareid cheerfully gave us many helpful suggestions for day trips in the surrounding area. We would not hesitate to recommend this property and do hope to stay again if we return to the area.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple

Barbara B Vancouver British Columbia (via Tripadvisor)


"Best cinnamon scones in Ireland"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 14 October 2013

This was the first B&B (2 nights) of our 18 nights stay in Ireland. Mairead and Jim were welcoming and gave us some excellent sightseeing advice, especially Kell's priory. Mairead's full Irish breakfast set a standard that few other B&Bs or hotels came close to and her cinnamon scones made all others a disappointment. I only wish we had asked for her recipe.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends

TB12-13 (via Tripadvisor)


"Wonderful b&b"

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 13 October 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. It was very peaceful, well worth the short drive into Kilkenny for dinner. The stars were so impressive! It's been a long time since we were able to see the Milky Way so clearly.

Mairead and Jimmy were both very helpful with suggestions on where to eat and great places to visit. Breakfast was delicious, with many choices (my favorite was the egg melt).

My husband enjoyed the putting green, and Bridie the cat allowed us to pet her when she wasn't out patrolling the rose garden.

Definitely would stay again, and for longer than the 3nights we did this time. There are some great things to see within 30 km.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple

Diana S Appleton, Wisconsin (via Tripadvisor)


"FABULOUS"

My wife and I stayed 2 nights at the end of September. Glamorous, oversized bedroom (complete with oversized bed), magnificently furnished. Modern bathroom with powerful hot shower. Excellent dining and sitting rooms, generous breakfasts of the highest quality. Very peacefully located about 8 minutes' drive from Kilkenny city centre and its vast array of quality restaurants and many pubs.

Very friendly and helpful hosts, Mairead and Jimmy. This is more like a resort than a B&B though the welcome and treatment you receive here make you feel like family. The nightly rate is a bargain for what you get.

Couldn't recommend more highly.

dyingkangaroo Hobart, Tasmania (via Tripadvisor)